Table of Contents
This page explains when and how your personal data is collected, processed and used when accessing the Wurst Wiki (wurst.wiki).
If you have any questions, you can contact Alexander01998 (the owner of the Wurst Wiki) at https://www.wurstclient.net/contact/.
When you create an account on the Wurst Wiki you need to provide the following information:
- “real name”
- email address
Your username will be publicly displayed to give you credit according to the Creative Commons license that we use. Your username cannot be changed later. Choose wisely!
“real name” is a DokuWiki feature that we are not using, but we cannot turn it off. Your “real name” will simply be displayed back to you when you are logged in. You can type in whatever you want and change it later, but it can't be empty. If you don't want want to submit your real name, simply type in your username again.
Your email address is important for emergency situations. You can change your email address at any time, so please try to keep it up to date. As shown below, certain kinds of data can only be deleted manually by us. If you ever need to contact us to have this data deleted, please send us an email from the address that you specified here. This way we can be sure it's really you and not an impersonator.
Your password, of course, is what you will use to log in to your account. As always, make sure to choose a strong password so that no one can hack into your account. You can change your password later, but there is currently no way to reset your password if you forget it. Please write your password down somewhere or add it to your password manager.
Never put any personal information (e.g. contact details) into a Wurst Wiki page!
Anyone with an account can create and edit pages on the Wurst Wiki. Before you do, however, please keep in mind that the content of these pages is visible to everyone. Even if your edits are later reverted, everyone can still see them by clicking on the “Old revisions” tab.
We can only remove your edits from the “Old revisions” tab by manually deleting files on the server. Even if we do that, this information is unlikely to ever become private again. People can download the page, print it out, take screenshots, etc. before this information is removed.
Never put any personal information (e.g. contact details) into your edit summary!
When you create, edit or delete a page, you also have the option to provide an “Edit summary” text before saving. Edit summaries are only meant to provide a quick summary of what you have changed about the page. Edit summaries are publicly visible in the “Old revisions” tab and they cannot easily be changed or deleted.
We can only delete your edit summary by manually modifying files on the server. Even if we do that, this information is unlikely to ever become private again. People can download the page, print it out, take screenshots, etc. before this information is removed.
Whenever you create, edit or delete a page, we log your username and IP address. This is necessary to prevent vandalism (we can easily block the username / IP address of users who vandalize the Wurst Wiki).
We also publicly display your username in the “Old revisions” tab of any page that you have created, edited or deleted. This is necessary to give you credit according to the Creative Commons license that we use.
Wurst Wiki admins (currently this is just Alexander01998) can also see the logged IP address in the “Old revisions” tab. Normal users cannot see this.
By default, we keep this data forever (even if you delete your account). We can delete this data by manually modifying files on the server if you request us to do so.
The Apache web server that is hosting the Wurst Wiki will log each page access. This log contains some personal data:
- your IP address
- your “referrer” (the website where you came from)
- your “user agent” (what browser you are using)
This information is necessary for legal reasons, to analyse traffic and to prevent abuse. This allows us to keep users away who try to crash our server and to have necessary evidence in case of illegal activity.
Our server logs are automatically deleted from the main server after 14 days. After 30 days, these logs are also deleted from our offsite backup servers. We will only keep log files for longer when they are needed as evidence during an investigation.
Cookies are small pieces of data stored on the user's computer by the web browser while browsing a website.
Most modern browsers have detailed settings where you can decide which cookies to allow and which cookies to block. In Google Chrome, you can open the Cookies settings by clicking on the padlock icon and then “Cookies (some number in use)”.
|Name||“DW” (followed by random letters and numbers)|
|Description||This cookie is used for authentication after login. It holds the necessary data to (re-)login a previously authenticated user.|
|Importance||necessary for anyone who needs to log in|
|Typical content||encrypted username and password|
|Expires||In a year, if “remember me” was checked when logging in. Otherwise: at the end of the browser session.|
|Description||This cookie is a standard PHP session identifier. It is used to hold temporary data and to avoid CSRF attacks.|
|Typical content||random ID|
|Expires||at the end of the browser session|
|Description||This cookie is used for remembering user preferences, like the size of the editor textarea.|
|Typical content||name/value pairs in plain text|
|Expires||in a year|
Third Party Services
We use Google AdSense to sell ads on this website. We don't sell data and neither does Google!
Google can use data that they already have about you to “personalize” their ads. You can turn off personalized ads by visiting Google Ads Settings or https://optout.aboutads.info/. Google Ads Settings also lets you see everything that Google knows about you and allows you to edit that data.
Individual ads and advertisers might also use their own cookies. We have no control over that.